[Next] [Previous] [Up] [Top] [Contents] [Index]

Appendix

State massage licensing requirements

State

Title

Educa

tion Hours

Written or

Practi

cal Exam

Type of Creden

tial

Renew

al Fee

National Certification Exam Used

Arkansas

501-682-9170

Massage therapist

500

Both

License

$30/yr.

No

Connecticut

203-566-1284

Massage therapist

500

Written (NCETMB)

License

$100/yr.

Yes

Delaware

302-739-4522, Ext. 205

Massage/Bodywork: Practitioner & Certified Instructor

500 or 300 plus 2 yrs. experience

n/a

Certification required

$155.40 biannually

No

Florida

904-488-6021

Massage therapist

500

Written

License

$100 every 2 yrs.

Yes, for written part

Hawaii

808-586-3000

Massage therapist, Massage apprentice

570

Written

License,

Massage appren

tice

permit

$120/ 2 yrs.

No

Iowa

515-281-4422

Massage therapist

500 (graduation

required)

Written

License

$100 every 2 yrs.

Yes

Louisiana

504-885-0435

Massage therapist

500

Written and oral

License

$50/yr.

Yes

Maine

207-582-8723

**Massage therapist,

*Massage practitioner

** Pass NCETMB or graduate from massage school,

* None

Written

**Certi

fication; *Registration

$100/yr.

Yes

Nebraska

402-471-2115

Massage therapist

1,000

Both

License

$302 every 2 yrs.

Yes, for written part

New Hampshire

603-271-4592

Massage practitioner

750

Written

License

$50 every 2 yrs.

Yes, for written part

New Mexico

505-827-7013

Massage therapist

650 in NM or 300 + 350 in qualifying experience

National certifica

tion + jurisprudence exam -Written

License

$100 biannually

Yes

New York

518-474-3817 (info.), 518-474-3866 (practice issues)

Massage therapist / Masseur / Masseuse (any one of the 3)

605

Written

License and registration

$50 every three yrs.

No

North Dakota

701-237-4036

Certified massage therapist

500

Both

Certificate of registration

$30/yr.

No

Ohio

614-466-3934

Massage therapist

600

Written

License

$25 every 2 yrs.

No

Oregon

503-731-4064

Licensed massage technician

330

Both

License

$100 every 2 yrs.

No

Rhode Island

401-277-2827

Massage therapist

500

Written

License

$25 every yr.

Yes

Texas

512-834-6616

Massage therapist

250 + 50 Internship

Both

Registration

$40 every yr.

No

Utah

801-530-6628

Massage technician

600 hours or apprentice for 1,000 hours over a minimum of 12 mos.

Written

License

$50 every 2 yrs.

Yes

Washington

206-753-3199

Massage practitioner

500

Written

License

$65/yr.

Yes

Educational requirements in state massage / reflexology laws

Educational requirements in state massage / reflexology laws

1. Arkansas

Educational requirements:

"Has completed a course of study at a board approved massage school or completed an apprenticeship program in standards adopted by the board." Curriculum consisting of not less than 500 hours of in-classroom instruction over a term of not less than 4 months consisting of the following topics:

(1) 100 hours of physiology

(2) 100 hours of anatomy

(3) 200 hours of technique

(4) 25 hours of hydrotherapy-electrotherapy-hilotherapy-reflexology

(5) 25 hours of hygiene and practical demonstration

(6) 25 hours of health service management

(7) 25 hours of various related subjects as determined by the Board.

Schools requirements:

(1) Certificate of registration from Board

(2) Application and inspection forms completed, and approved with registration fee paid

(3) Inspection of school premises

(4) Curriculum consisting of the above described.

2. Connecticut

Educational Requirements:

"(1) has successfully completed a course of study of not less than 500 classroom hours, with the instructor present, at a school of massage therapy which is accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education and which is approved at the time of the applicant's graduation, a curriculum which was approved by the American Massage Therapy Association.

(2) has passed an examination prescribed by the department."

3. Delaware

Educational requirements:

500 hours or 300 plus 2 years of practice

4. Florida

(Proposed reflexology law: "Complete a course of study (in reflexology) of a minimum of 200 hours, as prescribed by the rule of the Board, at a Board-approved reflexology or massage school.")

Educational requirements: 500 hours of massage education

5. Hawaii

Educational requirements:

570 education hours results in granting of massage apprentice certificate, license granted after 6 months of massage apprentice.

6. Iowa

Educational requirements: "Completion of a curriculum (graduation) of massage education at a state licensed or accredited school approved by the department which requires for admission a diploma from an accredited high school or the equivalent and requires completion of at least five hundred hours of supervised instruction. However, education al requirements under this paragraph are subject to reduction by the department if, after public notice and hearing, the departments determines that the welfare of the public may be protected with fewer hours of education."

Schools requirements: state licensed or accredited

CEU requirements: "12 hours per annually regarding subjects concerning massage and related techniques or the health and safety of the public ..."

7. Louisiana

Educational requirements:

"Has satisfactorily completed massage therapy studies in a minimum 500-hour supervised course of study. The course of instruction may be provided by a massage therapy school licensed by the state Department of Education. The minimum five hundred hours shall consist of

325 hours dedicated to the study of basic massage therapy techniques and clinical practicum-related modalities

125 hours dedicated to the study of anatomy and physiology

50 additional hours of discretionary related course work including but not limited to hydrotherapy, business practices and professional ethics, health and hygiene, and CPR and first aid."

Schools requirements: Licensed by state Department of Education

8. Maine

Educational requirements:

Massage practitioner: none

Massage therapist: graduation from a massage school or pass NCETMB test

9. Nebraska

Educational requirements:

Proof of graduation from a state-approved massage school and pass an examination.

School requirements:

"An approved massage therapy school shall be (i) one which is approved by the department upon the recommendation of the Board of Examiners in Massage Therapy, (ii) one which requires for admission a diploma from an accredited high school or its equivalent, (iii) one which has attached to its staff a regularly licensed physician and employs one or more competent massage therapists as instructors, and (iv) one which has a minimum requirement of a continuous course of study and training of not less that one thousand hours distributed over a term of not less than nine months. Such study and training shall consist of:

100 hours of each of the following: Physiology, anatomy, massage, pathology, hydrotherapy, hygiene and practical demonstration; and health service management. The remaining three hundred hours shall be obtained in subject areas related to the clinical practice of massage therapy."

10. New Hampshire

Educational requirements:

750 hours

11. New Mexico

Educational requirements:

Completion of a training program approved by the Board and registered with the commission on higher education, that program being at lest 650 hours in length or 300 hours with documentation of up to 350 hours of alternative qualifying experience including but not limited to professional massage therapy experience, apprenticeship training in massage therapy, clinical or internship training and prior experience in a health career to be approved buy the board.

At a minimum approved massage therapy schools shall provide instruction in anatomy, physiology, massage therapy, business, hydrotherapy, first aid, CPR and professional ethics.

Schools requirements: training program approved by the board and registered with the commission on higher education

12. New York

Educational requirements:

"Graduation from a school or institute of massage with a program registered by the department, or its substantial equivalent in both subject area and extent of training, provided that the program in such a school or institute shall consist of classroom instruction of a total of not less than 500 hours in subjects satisfactory to the department."

13. North Dakota

Educational requirements (Reflexology law):

"Present a diploma, certification or completion credential issued by a reputable school of reflexology which has submitted its curriculum to the board and has been approved by the board. ... Passes a reasonable demonstrative and written examination in reflexology."

Educational requirements (Massage law)

"Present a diploma, certification or completion credential issued by a school of massage approved by the American massage therapy association or shows that the applicant is an active member of the American massage therapy association. ... Passes a reasonable demonstrative, oral, and written examination conducted by the board in the art of body massage by hand or with any mechanical or vibratory apparatus for the purpose of body massaging, reducing or contouring, the use of oil rubs, salt glow, hot and cold packs, tub, shower, heat lamps and similar baths."

CEU requirement: 18 hours per year

14. Ohio

Educational requirements:

600 hours, Present a diploma or certificate from a school, college, or institution in good standing as determined by the Board, showing completion of the required courses of instruction as a condition to admission to the required examination.

School requirements: "The State Board shall determine the standing of the schools, colleges, or institutions giving instructions in limited branches of medicine or surgery (massage)."

15. Oregon

Educational requirements:

"Shall have furnished the board with educational certificates or transcripts required by law or rule of the board including the subjects listed in paragraph (d) of this subsection. (d) Shall have complete a minimum of 330 contact hours of certified classes in the following subjects: Anatomy and physiology, kinesiology, pathology, hydrotherapy and hands-on practicum or basic massage technique and professional practices, including sanitation and ethics.... "Shall have passed a written, oral and practical examination prepared and conducted by the board establishing competency and ability to engage in the practice of massage. The examination shall require the applicant to demonstrate a basic knowledge in the following subjects but not limited to: Anatomy, physiology, hygiene, manual and mechanical massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, pathology and massage statutes and rules."

16. Rhode Island

Educational / requirements:

500 hours and "... completed a program in or is certified by a school or institution of learning which is approved by the American massage therapy association or equivalent academic and training program approved by the director of health, other than a correspondence course, which school or institution has for its purpose the teaching of the theory, practice, method, profession or work of massage including at least anatomy, physiology, hygiene, and professional ethics."

17. Utah

Educational requirement:

"has graduated from a school of massage with a curriculum approved by the division in collaboration with the board, has receive equivalent education as determined by the board, or has completed an approved apprenticeship program consisting of a minimum of 1,000 supervised training hours over a minimum of 12 months. ... "has passed an examination approved by the division in collaboration with the board."

CEU Requirement: 2 days each year

18. Texas (Schools requirements: See law.)

Educational requirements:

"...successfully completed a minimum of 250 hour supervised course of instruction in massage studies provided by a registered massage therapy instructor, registered massage school, a state approved educational institution or a combination of any of these. (300 hours and a 50 hour internship required after Jan. 1, 1992)

"(a) The course of instruction for registration shall consist of 250 hours to include:

(1) 125 hours of Swedish massage therapy techniques;

(2) 25 hours of physiology;

(3) 50 hours of anatomy;

(4) 15 hours of hydrotherapy;

(5) 15 hours of business practices and professional ethics; and

(6) 20 hours of health and hygiene."

(7) 50 hours of internship.

Teacher requirements

Massage Therapy Instructor (MTI) requirements:

Registered massage therapist

minimum of two years of practice as a massage therapist

"Completion of 100 hours beyond the initial program at the proprietary school approved by the central education agency, a state approved educational institution, or in an additional program approved by the Texas Department of Health may be substituted for six months experience with a maximum substitution of 200 hours for one year"

"Attended a course on teaching adult learners or have demonstrated competency in teaching adult learners."

Instructor requirements:

"Qualified personnel may participate as instructors. The instructor shall have attended a course on teaching adult learners or have demonstrated competency in teaching adult learners. Instructors other than MTI shall have one of the following specific qualifications:

"(I) An instructor must hold a baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited college or university and (a) the baccalaureate or higher degree or other coursework must include satisfactory completion of nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours in subjects relate to the subject area to be taught or (b) the instructor must have a minimum of one year of practical experience within the last 10 years in the subject area to be taught.

"(II) An instructor must hold an associate degree from an accredited college, university, or recognized post secondary institution and (a) the instructor must have a minimum of one year of practical experience within the last 10 years in the subject area to be taught and the associate degree must include satisfactory completion o nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours in subjects related to the subject taught. or (b) the instructor must have a minimum of two years of practical experience within the last ten years in the subject to be taught.

(III) An instructor must hold a high school diploma, general equivalency degree (GED) or proof of satisfactory completion of relevant subject(s) from a recognized post secondary institution or practical experience of a minimum of two years within the last ten years in the subject area to be taught."

19. Washington

Educational requirements:

Successful completion of a course of study in an approved massage program or approved apprenticeship program. ..."These 500 hours are not to be completed in less than 6 months and shall consist in training in:

"(a) 130 hours of anatomy, physiology and kinesiology including palpation, range of motion, and physics of joint function. There must be a minimum of 40 hours of kinesiology.

(b) 50 hours of pathology including indications and contraindication to massage therapy and palpations.

(c) 250 hours of theory and practice of massage therapy, at a minimum to include Swedish and deep tissue techniques, remedial gymnastics, body mechanics of the practitioner and medical treatments.

(d) 15 hours of hydrotherapy

(e) 55 hours of clinical/business practices, at a minimum to include hygiene, medical terminology, professional ethics, business management, human behavior, client interaction and state and local laws."

Examination requirements:

"The board or its designee shall examine each applicant in a written and practical examination determined most effective on subjects appropriate to the massage scope of practice. The subjects may include anatomy, kinesiology, physiology, pathology, principles of human behavior, massage theory and practice, hydrotherapy, hygiene, first aid, Washington law pertaining to the practice of massage, and such other subjects as the board may deem useful to test applicant's fitness to practice massage."

CEU requirements: 16 hours every two years

School requirements

"The board may accept proof of a national professional association's approval of a school or program based on standards and requirements that are substantially equivalent to those identified in this chapter in lieu of the requirements contained in this chapter. Approval in this manner may be requested on a form provided by the department. The board will consider for approval any school, program or apprenticeship program which meets requirements as outlined in this chapter.

(1) Approval of any school or program may be requested on a form provided by the department.

(2) Application for approval of a school or program shall be made by an authorized representative of the school or the administrator to the apprenticeship agreement.

(3) The authorized representative of the school or apprenticeship program may request approval of the school or program as or the date to the application or the retroactivity or a specified date.

(4) The application for approval of a school, program, or national educational institution shall include but not be limited to, documentation required by the board pertaining to: Syllabus, qualifications of instructors, training locations, and facilities, outline of curriculum plan specifying all subject and length in hours such subjects are taught, class objectives, and a sample copy of one of each of the following exams: Anatomy, physiology and massage therapy or bodywork/somatic education."


RAA Reports - 14 MAY 1998

[Next] [Previous] [Up] [Top] [Contents] [Index]

Generated with Harlequin WebMaker